That’s not hijab…

This video from Ummah Films is quite “famous”. Now while I agree that you should struggle to do your best in terms of hijab and being the best you can be, I also think its wrong to tell the sisters that are really trying and struggling to wear modest clothing but isnt really there yet, that what they wear is not hijab!

I mean for myself, it was a biiiiig step putting on my hijab. I had a big crisis about 4 to 6 months after starting to wear it, I really started to doubt. I was thinking about all the stuff I missed out on, and also many people around me was not very supportive. Most of my friends still don’t wear hijab, but for myself, I have gotten used to it, im happy with it, and I would not take it of. At the same time, I know im not perfect, and I don’t wear it perfect either. I love earrings, and although I cover all but face, feet and hands, you still see the tip of my ears with color coordinated earrings peeping out.

Thats my take. Like fasting, praying and everything else in life, the actions are different from one person to another. What comes easy for one person, can be close to impossible for another. We are not the ones to judge, only Allah knows our intentions.

Tagged , , ,

7 thoughts on “That’s not hijab…

  1. Celeritas says:

    I’ve always wanted to do a response called “That’s not a beard/thobe/kufi” etc as a sort of “That’s not hijab for men”. You could talk about brothers not lowering their gaze, wearing tight clothes or short shorts, harassing women because they think they are ‘easy’ or not following the Sunnah to wear a beard or a hat.

  2. Naeemah says:

    “No one wants to see your short shorts” hahahahaa!!! that’s hilarious!:D

  3. Naeemah says:

    Celeritas-watch it until the end and you’ll know what I’m talking about;-)

  4. Celeritas says:

    Haha Naeemah your right, its been so long since I watched it I forgot about that.

  5. Maria says:

    I think it’s really odd … or funny, that this guy is telling what is hijab and what’s not! so many ulamas have been discussing what “to hijab” really means … but he knows it.
    and anyway it’s such a personal desicion. you never know, how the girls family feels about hijab, maybe she can’t wear it because of her job, school, maybe she had many troubles with racist people, … you never know, what makes it hard for a girl to wear proper hijab! but allah sees her heart and mind. and he undestands it, don’t you think?

    and last but not least …
    the way this boy talks … he seems totally like someone going to parties, maybe checking out non-hijabis (because guys think thats ok) … so he first should be starting to talk more apropriate about islam. I don’t think thats the way the prophet wanted us to talk about islamic issues.

    salam sisters

  6. basbousa says:

    Salam! I think it’s up to individuals to think for themselves, and seek knowledge in the Quraan and hadeeth. It’s a funny video but a bit judgemental from the guy’s side.

  7. Reem says:

    It’s so ironic how the last part about the brothers is so short and ends with only 1 point made…

Leave a Reply

