My opinion – Young girls and hijab

Little girl with her mom doing hijabshopping. I think she looks so cute.

Some of you are probably gonna hate me for this, but personally I think it’s great that she doesn’t wear hijab. I think it’s sad to see young girls from four years and up wearing hijab, not knowing what it really stands for, and not getting the chance to play like normal kids. And this I know for a fact, It would have been impossible for me to wear it when I was a kid, running around and climbing trees… Besides from that, there is really no point in putting the headscarf on young girls, hijab is for women, and you are not a woman until you at least reach puberty… It’s not healthy to “sexualize” our girls, making them wear hijab to cover something they don’t have. Let’s just be healthy rolemodels. Then, insha’a Allah, when the time is right, our little girls will understand that to veil is the right thing to do. That’s just my opinion. What’s yours?

Tagged , , ,

20 thoughts on “My opinion – Young girls and hijab

  1. Habayeb says:

    I agree too….ive seen ppl covering babies in hijab……i mean i know of sum frnds whove been wearing it since they were 5 and growing up they hate it being FORCED to wear it. Plus islam has given a ruling over this….after the reach PUBERTY and thats usually about the age of 12? (mostly i mean) Before that they can watch u wearing the hijab n all, letting them try it on now n then for fun and when they grow up explain to them why its worn n give them time to accept it……ive seen many gals remove the hijab when they reach skool or uni coz they are being forced to wear it. When they start wearing it by their own choice, THATS when theyll love to wear it n stick to it.

  2. basbousa says:

    Thank you for a reflected answer. I agree 100%

  3. Alixianna says:

    I think it is fun t let a sister (young or new Muslimah) dress up in hijab/niqab/abayah, but unless they understand and believe in it, it’s a no go in my opinion. The only time I’ll ever make any of my daughters where hijab is when they pray, to train them in relating it to Allah S.W.T (and hopefully make is easier for them to come to that decision on their own when the time comes.

  4. I’ve seen some very young Christain girls in religious head coverings and I’ve always disagreed with that for the same reasons: first of all, they don’t understand why they are wearing these head coverings and so they grow up just going through the motions of hijab because “I’ve always done this.” Hijab then doesn’t go into their hearts… if that makes any sense. Second of all, it does “sexualize” girls in a way because it makes them seem more adult. (Does that even make sense??) In the old days many Christian women would not cover until they were married but I think that covering upon puberty makes sense. Isn’t that when you become a woman because you are now fertile? Forgive my ignorance…

  5. basbousa says:

    You are very right. Girls doesn’t need to cover until they have reached puberty. They have nothing to protect before that, for they are children, and not objects of lust. They are pure and innocent, and no normal beings can look at them in another way. And also they are not learned enough to make the choice. It’s upon reaching puberty that muslims are responsible for their own actions. For example fasting in the holy month of ramadan is not required before this. But ofcourse one should always teach your kids about the rewards of good actions, and be the best rolemodels.

  6. basbousa says:

    Mistake; *Girls do not

  7. *~Ange~8 says:

    totally agree…
    funny thing is that i was half way through posting the same thing on my blog because i had a similar discussion with my husband last night about it…

  8. DJ says:

    As salamu alayki, my girls wear hijab simply because they want to. They are 7 and 4 years old. Its normal…just like ever little girl carries a pocketbook because mommy has one. SOme little girls see that mommy loves wearing hijab and they want to do the same. Sure if mom seems to be burdened by wearing hijab the girls will notice but if mom is honored by the respect that Allah has given her than the girls will also notice that. We ask Allah to bring our girls up as respectful, proud muslim women not afraid to let the world know that she willingly follows the commands of her Lord in pursuit of a paradise which gardens underflow.

  9. basbousa says:

    Wa alaikum assalam, sister. Ofcourse it’s important to show little girls that it is good to wear hijab, and to inspire them to wear it in the future. You are right when you compare your girls wanting to wear hijab, with kids wanting to carry a pocketbook. And it’s fully your right to let them veil. But the way I see it is that the HIJAB is an adult thing. I remember I used to wish that I could wear lipstick like mommy. But that’s also an adult thing, and ofcourse she would allow me to try it on once, but thats it. Now I’m not going to compare the hijab to lipstick, because lipstick is not modest and does not give a reward in heaven. But I also believe that God will not make any extra reward for you or your girls when they wear it without reaching puberty.

    This was really not meant harsh, no offence, sister. But personally I think it’s wrong to put hijab on kids, except from letting them try it on, or when praying, even though they want to. They don’t understand what it means, except from that mommy always wears it and they want to be like mommy.
    Only God knows.

    Love, Basbousa

  10. maya says:

    well i think asking a young girl to wear hijab is a form of training. so she will be used to it and not feel it is something weird . and what is wrong to let a kid wear hijab if they want to. in my opinion you are not forcing the kid. you are training them . how do you expect them to wear hijab when thay are big when you dont even instil that when they are young.

    the same goes to asking small children to pray. it is a form of training. so they are comfortable doing it.

  11. Michelle / Layla says:

    Totally agree! How about in the Islamic School? My girl goes to Islamic school and she is already a third grader. The uniform is long skirt with a long blue pants and of course long blouse. On the top of that she needs to wear a hijab. Poor girl, in the summer, they prefer to stay in the classroom most of their time than playing in the playgroud. I always “express” my concerns about the material of the uniform and the praticality of the girl’s uniform. It is totally restricted their movement and activities. They cannot enjoy any outdoor activities with that kind of outfit. Unfortunately, I am a convert, people will take my opinion as “not too Islmaci”. I do not like the idea of pushing those little girls wearing a hijab. She pull it off once she gets on the bus and a big relief when she take off her uniform. The next thing is she headed out to play and climb tree with her brother!!!!

  12. Lestari says:

    I was watching the Brazilian soap ‘O Clone’ the other day and the particular episode showed the daughters of the main characters feeling excited about putting on hijab when they received their first menses. I think it’s much easier for girls to wear hijab when they see their mothers/other grown up ladies wearing hijab when they themselves aren’t and make it a form of ‘initiation’ into womanhood. The particular girl in the episode was told that her beauty is special and should be kept private and that in a way the scarf enhances her beauty.

  13. ASHA says:

    I TOTAL DISAGREE TO THIS POINT OF YOURS SISTER =[… TRUE THAT KIDS DONT KNOW ABOUT COVERING UP .. BUT HEY REMEMBER WE ARE IN NEW WOLRD YOU MAY NOT WANT TO GET STAR WITH THEM WEARING HIJAB WHEN THEY ARE LITTLE AND SEE WHAT HAPPENS THEY WILL END UP LIKE THAT AND THATS THE TIME YOUR WILL SEE I WAS RIGHT..AND WHY DO HEALTHY GATTA DO WITH HIJAB??? AND ALSO I DONT SEE ANYTHING SAD ABOUT WEARING HIJAB HELLO PEOPLE … LETS BE GREAT ROLEMODELS BY SHOWING OUR KIDS THE TRUTH ABOUT ISLAM=]… NOT HEALTHY ROLEMODELS YEAH TRUE THAT WHEN IT COMES TO FOOD AND EXS LOL….

    PS.REMEMBER KIDS LEARN WHEN THEY ARE YOUNG..IF YOU KNOW THAT AM SAYING..=]

  14. Dalila says:

    Bismillahi Rahmani Rahim
    In the Name of Allah, the Most Gracious, the Most Merciful. I really appreciate everyones opinion on the hijab. Ive reflected on everyones opinion and I understand where youre coming from. It is sad to see, the Christian girls being able to go to church to early and entering private schools to be taught about jesus, and for that, even though they have no idea whats going on, just like any four-year old you have mentioned, that this is normal. But when we see a Muslim mother put on a Hijab for a little girl we see as a little bit extreme and we criticise without a heart. I have grown up in a Muslim House, Alhamdulilah. And my parents never forced me to wear the Hijab, i went to a normal school, with many diverse kids coming from different parts of the world, but SubhannAllah, when i was in second grade, thats when your about what, around 7 or 8 years old, I begged my mother to put on the hijab. And till now, ive never taken it off.

    When we talk about people forcing their children into wearing hijab, we cant just generalize and believe,yes, every Muslim does it. Because as you know many people come to read your site, and I think this is the wrong way, but I appreciate your opinion. InshAllah no one takes this to offense, I learn just like you do, and it would be great to hear or someone to reflect on my message. But not all children are forced here in America,and we have to remember we are their role models. So next time we begin to ponder and see what children are really forced into, maybe we should just go and ask a kid ourselves.

    Thank you and Jazakumulallahu Kayran for this and i totally respect everyones opinion, this is my opinion and InshAllah no one takes offense. From your Muslims sister, Salamu Alaykum

  15. Dalila says:

    I was watching the Brazilian soap ‘O Clone’ the other day and the particular episode showed the daughters of the main characters feeling excited about putting on hijab when they received their first menses. I think it’s much easier for girls to wear hijab when they see their mothers/other grown up ladies wearing hijab when they themselves aren’t and make it a form of ‘initiation’ into womanhood. The particular girl in the episode was told that her beauty is special and should be kept private and that in a way the scarf enhances her beauty.
    ——————
    ^^ totally agree with that. Thank you sister!!

  16. Dalila says:

    well i think asking a young girl to wear hijab is a form of training. so she will be used to it and not feel it is something weird . and what is wrong to let a kid wear hijab if they want to. in my opinion you are not forcing the kid. you are training them . how do you expect them to wear hijab when thay are big when you dont even instil that when they are young.

    the same goes to asking small children to pray. it is a form of training. so they are comfortable doing it.
    —————
    ^^ Agree, thank you!!

  17. AXxXX says:

    why do other muslim women not wear hijab?

    • sana says:

      now a days many Muslim women don’t wear hijab coz they don’t knw islam well.even may feel ashamed of it n face many problems too.as in my country Pakistan.people r modernizing so they think its an old age trend. where as it has many many useful aspects!!! i wear hijab and i’m being criticized by my own family.but i will never leave it, although many girls do wear it and r proud of it.

  18. Muslima says:

    I think that no little girl should be FORCED to wear hijab, for school or otherwise. But little girls LOVE copying their moms! I wore hijab part-time from when I was four till I hit puberty, when it became full time, and alhamdullillah, I hardly noticed the difference, while lots of other girls who only put it on when they get their first menses feel frustrated, hot, and eventually take it off. I’m talking from personal experience here, I wore a cute one piece hijab, with long sleeves and trousers (P.E. day) or the uniform skirt. If I felt hot, simple, I took it off! If I was going swimming, simple, I didn’t wear it. I definitely wasn’t as strict with myself as I am now. I wore hijab like you wear socks. You get used to it. If they’re bugging you, you take them off. When you have to wear them when you start school, khalas, you’re used to it and you’re fine with it!

    And anyway, little girls look SO CUTE in hijab! Occasionally, I wrap my hijab around my baby cousin and we snap photos and everyones like AWWWW!

  19. Nour Smith says:

    My daughter is 10 and already started puberty. She started wearing hijab when she was nine. She knew things were happening to her and felt uncomfortable. Now she is a confident outgoing girl in her hijab.

Leave a Reply

