Not getting jobs because of hijab… In DEARBORN!

2 muslim women are suing McDonald’s over getting insulted and refused because they wear hijab. Sadly we hear about people getting fired or not getting jobs because of the hijab, but people, this McDonald’s is in Dearborn, Michigan! Now I don’t know how many of y’all that knows this place, but it’s full of muslims, and especially arab muslims. There are sheesha places and lebanese restaurants all over, and one can also find the famous Shatila Bakery there. It’s just crazy that this discrimination-thing could happen there! Read more about the case here.

What do you guys think about this???

Tagged , , , , , , , ,

10 thoughts on “Not getting jobs because of hijab… In DEARBORN!

  1. Habayeb says:

    This is sooooo lame…..why do they make such a huge fuss abt a piece of cloth?? theyre just covering up their hair not face so that shud be fine shudnt it? And i thought they said America is a “free country”.

  2. Adela says:

    I think I know which McDonalds this is, right on Ford Rd. I had a friend that worked there and the management was a group of real jerks. They frequently made inappropriate comments to her so to hear them say something about a woman’s dress doesn’t surprise me at all. If this involves the McDonalds in Dearborn that my friend used to work at, they deserve the lawsuit…and they deserve to be boycotted…not that I ever went there anyways.

  3. basbousa says:

    Terrible.. And America is supposed to have anti discrimination laws…

  4. I highly doubt they would have refused to hire girls in mini-skirts and low cut shirts!! Modesty is under severe attack from the liberal pop-culture everywhere in the West. It’s a common belief that any woman that dresses modestly has a mental problem. **Sigh**

  5. Its ashamed to hear and see how other religion sees us muslims as terrorists and stuff. I mean even how high their standard of educations are, they still have their ‘low-ness’ in them. I hope those two girls will move on and there are so many other work out there. Last few days, I watched Oprah on tv and they had this ‘acting’ scene to experiment ppl on what will they do if they encounter some bad situation happened infront of their own eyes. one of the scene is about this cafe guy does not wanna serve a muslim hijab girl at the cafe. sadly more customers acted like nothing is happening and leave the cafe and what made me really MAD was when a guy gave a thumbs up to the cafe guy. fortunately there are still some good customers who stood up for that girl and these shows that not all human beings are bad and they still have heart for other people too regardless of their skin colors, cultures or religion.

  6. basbousa says:

    Shaqirah, I saw that thing too, on youtube. It’s just terrible that that many people didn’t do anything to help, but at the same time, it really warms your heart when you see those who actually stood up for that woman.

  7. Elyse says:

    This is sad on so many levels. I’m American and we do have anti-discrimination laws — further, we have food safety laws. Food service workers are REQUIRED to cover their hair. I’m missing the problem for these managers? Aren’t these girls just getting a start on their prospective jobs?

  8. Celeritas says:

    Bizarre, I mean really as you say its Dearborn!

    It’s so ironic for McD’s to do this considering hijab is part of the uniform in Malaysian McD’s. I’ve always wondered if non-Muslim women would be required to wear the hijab to work in the Malaysian restaurants?

  9. oonik says:

    I’m going to be putting on the hijab very soon and abt a week before the momentous undertaking (for me, at least !), i received a call on a possible job interview.

    i was, am still actually, slightly worried that i’ll be judged based on my hijab. but i have strengthen my resolve in regards. if wearing a hijab means that i will nt get that job, then so be it. I asked Allah fr guidance and if He thinks that this job is best for me, then insya Allah, He will grant it for me.

    bt now, i am a little worried on what to wear fr interviews ! i would need at least 2 outfits in case of a 2nd interview. yikes !

  10. basbousa says:

    Oonik, I wish you the best of luck, insha’a Allah!

Leave a Reply

