Obama for president, hijabi style

I sooo wanted this top, but was very disappointed when I found out that they don’t ship to international adresses.. Sometimes it’s not all about looking cool, sometimes you want to make a statement too. So this is how I would show my support for Obama. Let’s just hope ignorant people won’t be afraid, and think that terrorists support him, just because one wears a headscarf :O No, no, just put on funky accessories and nobody will think nothing bad.. Works for me, nobody has ever treated me bad whenever I have been in the U.S… Not even on airports!

Tagged , , , , , ,

13 thoughts on “Obama for president, hijabi style

  1. raquelevita says:

    Sis, you never fail to disappoint! I *have* this top and have rocked it hijabi-style. During the primaries, people would approach me about how I could possibly support Obama over Hillary. After all, she’s a woman! How insulting. As if the sum of my politics is contained in some kind of “ovarian sisterhood”.

    Plenty of people are enthusiastic too, though. You know the nod, smile, and occasional salaam that comes with crossing paths with another hijabi? Same happens with Obama supporters if you’re wearing his gear. 😉

  2. basbousa says:

    You are one lucky sister! I want this 😦
    Do you know of anywhere to buy this except from the official web store?

    And that thing with Hillary, believe me I also had my discussions with friends that were outraged that I didn’t support her (Hillary) when she still had a chance to become the first female pres of America. I’m like, I would SO support a female candidate if she was the best, but I’m not gonna support a woman over a man just because she is a woman….

  3. raquelevita says:

    You can buy Obama products all over the web – just Google for “Obama shirts”. There are millions out there. The downside to going that way is that you won’t be supporting the campaign. Try to buy from a more independent site, rather than one that mass-produces all sorts of political gear. The Obama stuff is sweatshop-free, alhamdulillah.

    I’m not sure if you can use an international credit card to purchase from elsewhere in the world and have it shipped to the US. If you do that, a friend in the US can mail out to you.

  4. basbousa says:

    Thanks for the tip 🙂 You’ve been very helpful!

  5. OMGIAMGOINGNUTS says:

    I wonder if you are forgetting that his campaign wouldn’t allow two women to sit behind him because their head was covered. Forget that?

  6. basbousa says:

    I didn’t forget, actually I made a post about it earlier. In the same post, you will find 2 pictures of Mr. Obama with women wearing headscarves. I’ve already explained my views there. 🙂

  7. Noooo! Not Obama! Now he’s made it onto clothing?? AHHHHH! Is nothing sacred any more?

    **I’m mellllting…mellllting…**

    (I am SO not an Obama fan hehehehehe!)

  8. P.S. I totally dig those shoes. I curse my HUGE wide feet every second of my shoe-miserable life ~ I can never find any shoes that fit except for men’s sporty shoes or sneakers. (trainers). I’m not kidding either! I daily engage in the ultimate fashion faux pax: dresses/skirts with sneakers!! **Gag**

    Those shoes don’t say “Obama” do they??? hehehehe

  9. P.P.S. Forgot to add this while twitching and drooling from Obama-itis: Basbousa ~ I live in Scotland but I’m an American with an American bank account. Maybe I can get one of these shirts for you? My shipping address is Scotland but my bank is in America… but even if that didn’t work I could always ship it to my cousin in Las Vegas and have her send it to me. She works for a shipping company no less hahaha! Let me know!

  10. basbousa says:

    No, CC, I don’t think you can find anything Obamaish about the shoes 🙂
    And you are not the only one “blessed” with big feet 😀 But I don’t let it bother me, I’ll push them into anything I wanna wear.

  11. basbousa says:

    That’s so sweet of you CC, but I won’t let you go against your values 🙂
    I already got a sweet sister to help me 🙂 God, you guys are the best!!!

  12. HAHAHAHA! Ok, thanks for sparing my values! But I don’t hate Obama or anything like that. I’m just not a fan of his politics, that’s all. *Grin* I’m glad you have someone that is able to get you one of those shirts! And yeah, I agree with several of your commentors: no one should vote someone in as Prez just because they are a woman or black or this or that because that is farrrr too shallow! A Prez is not a celebrity, they are the leader of a country and we have to vote with *that* in mind!

  13. Naeemah says:

    Go Obama!:-) Sweet outfit btw;)

Leave a Reply

