My hijab style

So I was interviewed by a Norwegian newspaper yesterday. That was kind of awesome, because they ended up making a really good (and loooong) article about my blog and hijab style. Awesome! Unfortunately it’s in Norwegian. Check it out here if you can read it. If not, you can try to read a google translated version that doesn’t make sense here. The biggest mistake is where it says; Even bloggers have no friends in Canada that goes with the hijab. Say what? It’s supposed to be: The blogger herself doesn’t have any friends in Norway wearing hijab.
 

So cool 🙂

Tagged , , , ,

20 thoughts on “My hijab style

  1. Iis Kusaeri says:

    In my country, it is called as jilbab. Wonderful.

  2. God is deffinately using your blog!!!!!!!!

    If you ever get a translation of the article into English, do share!!

  3. Tonje says:

    It was bacause of the norwegian article that I ended up looking at your blog, and I am impressed. So much nice looking hijabs.

    Eller for å ta det på Norsk som jeg behersker en smule bedre. Jeg er skikkelig imponert over hvor mange tøffe og vakre hodeplagg det finnes. Og det er flott at du viser “norske” jenter slik som meg selv at det ikke bare er svarte og enkle hodeplagg der ute. Jeg blir nesten misunnelig jeg, for det er jo et fantastisk tilbehør dere har med uendelige muligheter(selv om det selvfølgelig ikke bare er et tilbehør for muslimske kvinner).

    FLOTT BLOGG!!

  4. Yas says:

    Bra jobba!!!

    leste artikkelen, gledelig å se at det jobbes med sånt ;), også får våres (gutter) slipper å se bare kjedelig hijab styler som folk bringer med seg fra landsbygda i hjemlandet, jeg mener hvorfor ikke gå fin kledd når selv religionen oppmuntrer til det?!?!

    ønsker deg all lykke til videre, og stå på.

    forresten, vil gjerne vite hva du har studert, og hvor du kommer fra opprinnelig ?

  5. hani says:

    You look so beautiful sister. 🙂

  6. raquelevita says:

    I’ve already told you – wonderful photos, and I’m so proud to know you! You are trailblazing, my sistah. 😉

  7. Eloi says:

    I’m planning on reading it tonight – will have it translated for you by sometime tomorrow :).

    I just wish non-muslims could go with headscarves without looking like they’re trying to be muslim. Fashion muslims? 😉

  8. Mina says:

    Mashallah – your working it girl
    Love the blue hijab and you look absoutly gorgoues:)

  9. basbousa says:

    Thanks, everybody!

  10. Helene says:

    Hello.

    I also found this from the Norwegian newspaper. Very interesting and entertaining- thankyou for opening mye eyes! I have allready added this to my favourites.

    Helene

  11. Mary says:

    In general I´m not a fan of the hijab, though I think it´s far better than the niqab. In my opinion the hijab serves two purposes: One as personal statement regarding own religion and a signal to the world that “I take my islamic belif seriously.” The other as a symbol of mens repression of women in the islamic culture.

    How you interpret the hijab is of course individual and influenced by your background and religious views. I for one, just can´t get my head around the fact that so many muslim women out there, strong and intelligent women, seem to ignore or simply skip over the fact that the hijab is not at all about freedom for everyone. There are women that are forced to cover their hair from a very young age. For them the hijab is a prison, pressed upon them by means of laws over which they have no saying.

    With this said, I also think that basbousa is doing something really important here. She is taking control over her hijab. She´s controlling IT, not the other way around. And she makes it less scary for those who do not share her religion. I cannot think about a better way to infuse this garnment with new meaning, and at the same time sticking it to the fundamentalist, than to make the hijab a cool assesorie to the modern, muslim woman!

  12. Alix says:

    Mabruk dear, and keep up the good work. LOL, gives me an excuse to be lazy: D

  13. Marrakchiyya says:

    Salamo Aleikom to all the sisters 🙂

    Now let me get this straight first.. Im not here to bash, slenge dritt or judge. Just wanna get that straight before Im called a hypocrite, a hater or jelous muslimah. No I dont wear the niqab and Im not a “all black muslimah”…. helt a4 liksom.. og til yas sin kommentar… vi bruker ikke hijab for at guttene vaare skal ha noe fint aa se paa 🙂 og hva er galt med folk fra landsbygda… huh, what, achnooo?

    First of all a comment to Mary, in islam there is no force.. does this mean force dont happen?.. no I know it does… but its not right. A person that force his or her child or sister or whoever to lie to Allah talaa by making them wear the hijab cant know his or her deen very well. or he is outting what ppl will say before Allah. A woman wearing her hijab for her husband or mother or whoever but Allah is only fooling herself.. Allah knows all, and see all – intention is no 1 in Islam. And this is a sad position to put a woman in. But what I also think is a sad position to put a woman in- is to make her a sexobject, to make her believe tat the only “verdi” she has is by showing off her body and look good n sexy at all times. Making her believe that if more men look at her, gaze and drule – now thats a smokin hot, successful woman. I dont agree with this wiev and I think its sad that some women do this to themselves. And that society consider her a free woman.. free how? so free that she feel obligated to do this so in fact ppl will look at her and find her attractive? For aa si det saann damer som Hege Storhaug er bare en stor kvise paa samfunnets rompe.. she is not doing any1 but herself a favor.. Hun seller jentene hun “hjelper” for aa oppnnaaa publisitet. Thats not helping and thats not constuctive work. puh just had to get that off my chest…

    Me, Im a born muslim, Alhamdolillah.. most part of my life I did my salah and fast in Ramadan and that was it… I started to read more about my deen (and islamic studies at the universety), and it facinated me more and more. My parents are not very religious.. normal I would say. When I told them about my wish to wear the hijab – it was NOT popular.. They said – norwegians will think u r oppressed, u will have a hard time finding a job, they will think ur father is a strict man that force u to do this.. All the things I KNOW norwegian ppl think about girls with hijab. I did it anyways… believe it or not, Im more happy now than I was 5 years ago before I wore the hijab. Force in any way is not good… Its BAD to force a girl or woman to wear the hijab and its BAD to force a woman to take it off. freedom is in the hand of the beholder.. if freedom is walking around naked for some ppl, then freedom can be so many other thing to other ppl. Freedom for me is to be able to be me, practice my religion and be accepted and respected the way I am..

    Now Id like to talk about hijab.. who do we wear this for? whats ur “niya” ur intention with it? We cant fool Allah, everybody knows that.. so be honest about it.. If its not for the sake of ur religion n Allah talaa.. I dont se whe u (ppl, girls, us) wear it.. I know girls that wear the hijab but dont pray 5 times a day… say what??? prayer is the 1 thing that takes us more close to Allah than any other thing – salah is fard in islam, its even before hijab (de 5 soyler)… if u consider urself a practicing muslim – it means that before anything else u should do ur salah. right or wrong? secondly somethings we can “synse” about – somethings NO NO NO.. Alhamdolillah we have all we need to know in books, we have to open it up and start reading. If it was a machine u wouldnt start using it before u red the manual… same with hijab and religion. I have never red that makeup is HARAM mutlaq – some say it is.. depends on the tolkning I guess. But looking like a gragqueen in bright daylight – is NOT to avoid attention, again whats ut intention, honestly? thats even irrelevant.. but like a sister said before – hijab is not something we wear to get more attantion. Hijab is for ALLAH ONLY. N He dont care if ur eyeshadow match ur underwear or the stone in ur bracelet.. He cares about ur intention.. All we do we must do in the bounderies of Islam… just find a book about female adornement … there you can read all.. I like fashion, i like makeup – but i think theres a time and place for anything. a hijab tied up in a million ways with full makeup is in my opinion something that should be done between us women.

    Now all of this that i wrote, is to be considered if one truly wants to follow the footsteps of Muhammad saw and his followers – If so, we are obligated to read, learn and do it properly. If its done to look cute or enchanse the color of ur eyes or only for fashion prupose.. then that person is not right to “speak the cause of islam”, or to represent islam on behalf af all the ummah… khalle Allah o safi…

    Good luck to me and all other muslims in their search for whats right or wrong, good or bad. Use ur hijab wisely, use it for Allah, and within the bounderies of Islam. Read and learn before u talk or represent something.. May the ra7ma and blessings of Allah reach all muslims inchaAllah.. Ameen

  14. basbousa says:

    Thank you for a reflected and good comment.

    I don’t think or views differ that much, believe me, I read a lot, I didn’t just wear hijab because it was “cool” or trendy. I don’t think wearing the hijab is 100% obligatory, but I think it’s one step to getting closer to God (if, ofcourse, the other things that are “required” are done).

    But sister, where I think you got me wrong is where you assume that I wear the hijab to look cute or solely for fashion purposes (sorry, I might have misunderstood you). I do care a lot about Islam, and if you talk to me face to face, you would also know that I know a little something about most stuff that has to do with it. There is only so much you can talk about every aspect of Islam when you are discussing your hijab fashion blog 🙂

    Hope to get your comments in the future 🙂

  15. Eloi says:

    Here it is – I see you moderate your comments so you can decide if you want this there or somewhere else. Wonderful pictures – wish I could include them. Peraps Dagbladet would be interested in a free translation? Feel free to make any necessary adjustments. They sure do mention ages a lot – are they SO amazed a 21 year old can accomplish sth? 🙂 :

    “Norwegian Women have Much to Learn

    Imaan (21) blogs about the hijab.

    Forget Swedish Blondinbella. This fall Imaan Ali (21) from Oslo is the new style blogger. Using the nick Basbousa, she writes about hijab fashion on her thehijabblog.

    On her blog she writes about what’s hottest on the headscarf front, what should by all means be avoided, and how to forge the elaborate creations.

    It’s hardly been a year since she started her blog, but already she has been interviewed by the Toronto Star and mentioned in The Guardian. Most of her readers are outside Norway and particularly from Australia and Arabic countries, but an increasing number of Norwegians are checking out her blog.

    – Norwegian Muslims have much to learn from women in Egypt and the United Arab Emirates when it comes to their wardrobes, the 21 year old told Dagbladet.no.

    Bunad hijab

    Two other Norwegian women have attracted notice on the hijab front. Earlier this summer, Aftenposten presented sisters Susan and Nafeesah Badrkhan who design hijabs for a western market.

    – We started wearing hijab three years ago. It was very difficult to find hijabs adapted to life in Western countries. So we began to create our own hijabs, explain the sisters from Holmlia.

    In time, the sisters hope also to sell hijabs for bunads – the Norwegian national costume – and a bathing suit for Muslim women covering the entire body. The collection is aimed at modern Muslim women.

    Not a symbol of women’s oppression

    Imaan began wearing hijab only a year ago.

    – In my last job my employer didn’t like that I wore hijab. Today I wouldn’t choose a job over the hijab. They’ll have to take me as I am, says the 21 year old who works for an IT company.

    The 21 year old saw the hijab’s potential when she moved to Egypt in 2006 to work as an event coordinator.

    – Egypt is the most innovative country for hijabs, especially in the way they are knit. It’s difficult to start wearing hijab in Norway, but in Egypt I saw that hijabs could be cool, fun and exciting, says Imaan.

    – When you see the street life of Egypt you can’t say they looked oppressed! It’s not just black veils, stresses Imaan, who hopes Norwegians will come to see that also Muslim women have style.

    Challenging many stereotypes

    For style is something Imaan has.

    – I’ve received almost only positive comments, both on the web and otherwise. When I’m in a shop, elderly men come up to me and say “So lovely you look!” I think I challenge people’s stereotypes about how Muslim women should look, says the 21 year old.

    Imaan wears the hijab primarily for religious reasons, but thinks there shouldn’t be a contradiction between wearing the hijab and following fashion.

    – Some Muslims may say that I shouldn’t use the hijab as a fashion statement. But it’s a cultural, not a religious matter. Those who say, “Why don’t you wear hijab, why are you wearing makeup?” – those are the bad Muslims.

    No friends in hijab

    None of the blogger’s own friends wear hijab.

    – When I visit Muslim friends, their mothers are always so pleased that I wear hijab. But it’s actually quite funny since they don’t cover their heads themselves, says Imaan.

    – What’s most important is to have hijab in your heart. A woman deserves just as much respect whether she wears hijab or not. She must choose it for herself – if not it’s just like any other accessory you might have on your head.

    The creations she presents on her blog have inspired many of her friends – Muslim and non-Muslim – to experiment with wearing hijab.

    – As regards the scarf, use what you have and like for its colour and material. But now in the summer strong colors are nice, recommends the blogger.

    – Hennes & Mauritz and Lindex are the new hijab stores – I find many beautiful scarves there. I get the best ones from Egypt, but if you want the luxurious black scarves you have to order from the Gulf.

    Autumn fashion

    In the autumn the square silk shawl will dominate, according to the blogger.

    – Think Dolce and Gabbana. Fold the scarf into a triangle and wear it in best “babushka-style”. On the job, a simple monochrome scarf may be wisest.

    – Other trends are lacy “underscarves” and scarves in royal blue and pink. Pair them with a trenchcoat and gloves in matching colours, she advises.

    – Otherwise it’s up to your imagination. What’s most important is to remember that the hijab can be fun, underscores the 21 year old as she makes some alterations to her blog. This autumn, thousands of women around the world will be altering themselves according to her blog.

    HIJAB

    Directly translated, “hijab” means veil or curtain in Arabic.
    In Norwegian it is used to designate a shawl worn by Muslim women to conceal their hair, neck and shoulders.

    Hijab also has religious overtones. By covering herself in accordance with the Koran, a woman comes closer to God.

    One can’t smoke, drink alcohol or behave indecently when wearing hijab.

    In France, due to the separation of church and state, wearing hijab is forbidden at schools, universities and at the workplace.

    In Turkey there is a total ban on the hijab. This summer the ruling party was almost banned itself when it attempted to legalize wearing hijab again.

  16. basbousa says:

    Thanks, Eloi! That was really nice of you!

  17. Amani says:

    lol dumb

  18. Fer says:

    i love raquel hijab stile… iam soon goin to be muslim andi would like tofind a page where ican get nice hijiabs like the one you have…

  19. Ashna.A says:

    Your Hijab style looks awesome. i wanna learn how to do it, could you tell me?

  20. Mona says:

    Oh my god MashAllah youre vrey beautiful 😮

Leave a Reply

