A Night With the Morality Police and the famous Persian hijab

This is an article about an interesting encounter with the “hijab police”;

Spooning up some pomegranate seeds by the side of the road while waiting for my German friend Nadia, I noticed the morality police approaching. But dressed in my baggiest clothes and a pair of nerdy glasses, I didn’t imagine I could possibly be mistaken for a moral transgressor. I was wrong. The two ladies in long black chadors informed me that my coat was too short, and ordered me into their van. I protested that I was waiting for a foreign friend whom I couldn’t just desert. They considered the argument, then decided to wait and take both of us. When Nadia arrived, they loved her. “Look at her, she’s a foreigner and her coat is longer than yours,” one officer said. The other added that I needed to learn better hijab (Islamic covering) from my German friend!

Everyone familiar with the situation in Iran had tried to change my mind when I decided to spend a few months there this fall. “It’s become bad, people prefer to stay home rather than go out because they keep bothering everyone,” the argument usually went. I had dismissed this as exaggeration. Even in the back of the van, Nadia and I were quite comfortably eating our pomegranate and at times laughing about the absurdity of the situation. I joked with the morality police ladies that I was the worst catch they had ever made. “You really couldn’t find someone a little more provocatively dressed? Am I just filling your nightly catch quota?”

Read more here.

Personally, I think the Morality Police achieve the opposite of what they want… Instead of encouraging these girls to wear hijab, they make them despise it. I think force most often lead people to the other opposite. Nobody can force you to have hijab in your heart.

What do you think?

 

Tagged , , , , , , ,

7 thoughts on “A Night With the Morality Police and the famous Persian hijab

  1. I agree. Forcing hijab by scaring people with “morality police” is not the right approach. Women should be *inspired* to adopt modesty out of **love for God** ~ not because they fear punishment from fellow human beings!!

  2. *~Ange~* says:

    with all that hair hanging out, it cant be considered hijab.

  3. Megan says:

    Well no, but it isn’t really modesty if it’s done out of fear or coercion. You are wise as usual, coffe catholic 🙂

  4. Fatemeh says:

    “Instead of encouraging these girls to wear hijab, they make them despise it. ”

    YES. Many Irani girls try to personalize the modesty requirements and try and push their limit; because they don’t have the freedom to dress how they wish, they try to rebel against the dress code. It’s rebelling against the state; a mandatory headscarf is not associated with God or modesty in a corrupt theocracy.

  5. Amal~Hope says:

    The style, I think, is very cute…but I wouldn’t say it is the correct hijab…i still like it.

  6. Ikram says:

    you’re right!! even here in algeria there are some girls who wear the hijab just because her boyfriend told her or her dad so their clothes are usually transparent, short, tight, low necked, uncoverd hair… (sorry for the expression but they look like Bitches)

  7. Liberal says:

    Well, I don’t think forcing women to wear Hijab is right, even fair. In Persia, the country has taken upon itself to fix everyone’s morality. Well, crashing news but, it is not their reponsibility. A government is supposed to give the citizens the life they require. And what the hell is a Morality Police?! Do you really think that forcing people to do something they don’t want to do will make them fix their morality?!
    Lots of women in Persia just put the veil on in the streets only and then at home, even in the presence of strangers, they take it off. Mostly, they go out looking like that, which is very provocative in a closed community like the Persian one. I am wearing my Hijab Al-Hamdu-Lellah, and I am wearing it respectfully and completely convinced.
    God is the only one who should punish people, not the Persian Morality Police.
    Thank You.

Leave a Reply

