Artistic bobby pins as hijab pins

A very creative reader sent me this hijabilicious tip on how to make beautiful hijab pins of bobby pins;

There aren’t any specific “hijab” shops anywhere near me… So I’ve had to make do with safety pins and those boring ball tip pins to hold my scarves in place. One day, I came up with this idea (maybe i’m not the first.. ?) to use bobby pins. But since I’m a crafty sort of person, I wanted to spice them up a bit.

I bought some thin wire and some tiny beads and went crazy with them. I pulled one end of the wire through the end of the bobby pin and slipped the beads on over both ends of the wire so that it would sort of loop around and be more stable. Then I’d wrap the wire back around the top part of the bobby pin (the flat side works best) with the beads in groups of three or four… Really, you just need to experiment with it. I’ve made some with flowers on them as well, by looping the wire outwards. All you have to do is wrap the wire around into the shape you want and string beads on to it.

Pretty neat, huh? It looks cute, and so does the person making it too, masha’a Allah! Thanks for the great tip, I hope some of you guys found it useful too 🙂

Tagged , , , , , ,

5 thoughts on “Artistic bobby pins as hijab pins

  1. Habayeb says:

    wow thats some creativity masha’allah! but again, doesnt it loosen up or something?

  2. Habayeb says:

    or maybe its just that im too used to using the actual hijab pins? oh and the sis looks cute too masha’allah

  3. The inventor says:

    Actually, it doesn’t loosen up because the wire makes the space between the two sides of the bobby pin smaller, and therefore tighter. Honestly, the only thing holding that orange scarf is that one bobby pin and trust me… I run and jump and skip all day, but it never falls off!

  4. Janan says:

    I do the same thing with straight pins. that way they dont loosen up. The only difference is you cannot have a straight line of design like bobby pins do. With straight pins you either have something dangly or a button of sorts. I’ll post pics of mine, sooner or later. http://essenceoftimeandearth.wordpress.com/

  5. Salaam sisters, just to say, i am a artist by nature, so i have lots of creative ideas, and at the moment i am making plenty hijab pins for orders to go, so if youre interested drop me a line, i do customized ones too.
    shisam@fsmail.net
    http://www.redbubble.com/people/shaida

Leave a Reply

