Sooo sorry…

Hi everybody… Some of you probably noticed the lack of updates yesterday. This is due to a lot of stuff happening in my life lately; -I got a great job, where I can use my strenghts and talents and still dress in style with hijab, there is really much to do, and I’m working overtime every day, loving it. -I am currently waiting for the results of my application. I’m stressed out, because the decission was due yesterday, but it is delayed. -My new job requires me to go see shows, musicals and such – yesterday I watched “Singing in the rain” until late…

So… I promise more updates this weekend, but as per today, I’m just too busy and anxious about the decission. Pray for me, darlings….

Tagged , , ,

19 thoughts on “Sooo sorry…

  1. chika says:

    hey besbes, enshalla all we be ok and don’t stress out allah yewaf2ek enshalla 🙂

  2. floe says:

    Good luck, I tink you deserve that, enjoy in new job :hug

  3. caraboska says:

    There is so much contained in the phrase ‘Insha’Allah’, among other things that Allah knows best. May He provide the very best result for you, and may you find joy in His will being done with regard to your application. And of course all the best in your new job!

  4. Kholod says:

    الله يوفقك بكل خطوة و يخترلك إللي فيه الخير

    🙂

  5. madame says:

    hey lady,
    wish you the best!!! im happy to read, that you got a new job..its sounds exciting :-)) yeahhh…

  6. Franzi says:

    Wa Alaikum Salaam,

    congratulations on your new job – but, I thought Music was haraam (Musicals ?) … ?

    There is a hadith in Saheeh Bukhari about it:

    “Among my ummah there will certainly be people who permit zinaa, silk, alcohol and musical instruments…” (Narrated by al-Bukhaari ta’leeqan, no. 5590; narrated as mawsool by al-Tabaraani and al-Bayhaqi. See al-Silsilah al-Saheehah by al-Albaani, 91).

    Further explanations can be found here:
    http://islamqa.com/en/ref/5000/music

  7. I’ll make du’a that Allah S.W.T makes it easy for you!!!!

  8. Mina says:

    Congrats sweety — Inshallah things will work out for the application.
    Your in my du’aas

  9. Mariam says:

    Best of luck inshallah.
    And hey sounds like a fun job!! 🙂 You’ll have to update us on your adventures once you’ve started :))

  10. Mia says:

    hey girl, haz saeed for your future endeavour. insyaallah, rabena yewafaak fel shoghl el geded

  11. growingwoman says:

    Asalamulakum, dude! I love this site! I discovered it last week and mashallah its fabulous. Anyway, I probably dress more conservatively, or boringly than many of your visitors but I still enjoy it. Hey do you or anyone know what hijabs in places with lots of snow usually wear in the winter? I have lots of wonerful things that work for warmer seasons but not the winter, I am tired of freezing to ice cube state. 😉

  12. cecilia says:

    good luck with your job… I really like your blog =)

  13. mardy says:

    so what do you do in this new job? sure sounds really fun! it would take a lot for me to work overtime haha… anyways all the best with your new job and the application! keep us allllll updated here ayt 🙂

  14. mamamona says:

    I love “Singing in the Rain”!

  15. basbousa says:

    Thanks everybody for nice and supportive comments. I do love my new job, and I will keep you all updated on the application status 😀

  16. caraboska says:

    I live in a place where it can get down even to minus 20 Celsius or colder in the winter. What I do for cold weather is:

    1. Take a wool or cashmere shayla (either a narrow one, or a wide one folded in half lengthwise, depending on the weather), both ends hanging down in front, one third on one side, two thirds on the other

    2. Pull the upper edge down to cover the forehead and make tucks at the sides to take in the fullness.

    3. Cross the long end over the short end, pulling it snugly under the chin (for added security or so you don’t have to adjust it, you could pin it under the chin, I don’t bother and it’s usually more or less OK)

    4. Wrap the long end around my neck, and back down again the other side

    5. Add a hat suitable for the weather on top.

    I admit to not covering my head under normal circumstances, so that I’ve never tried this strategy over a lighter hijab suitable for indoor use, but I’m sure that it would work. And if it keeps my head warm even without a hijab underneath, it’ll no doubt perform that function even better when there is that extra layer.

  17. caraboska says:

    PS Just reread your post, growingwoman, seems you had in mind more than just the head covering part. For clothing, the upper body is relatively simple because you can put all kinds of layers on it – say, a shirt, a vest and a sweater.

    For the legs, I tend to go for skirt and trousers (e.g. jeans) combinations. If it gets really cold, I can add leggings and/or tights underneath the jeans. For the feet, boots that slip under the trousers (no doubt one could also use trousers that tuck into the boots as well), with wool socks if need be.

    Over that, I put a heavy coat. If you are so inclined, you could slip a jilbab or abaya underneath it whose function would be coverage rather than warmth, because the other clothing will take care of that.

    But the Muslim women here that I have seen do not use a separate jilbab, in the sense of outer covering – they just cover everything except face and hands with loose clothing, and leave it at that. So that one thing I have NEVER seen a Muslim woman do here is, say, put a big abaya *over* a down jacket 😉

  18. Congrats sis and good luck!

  19. Najm-us-Sahar Imtiaz says:

    hey!!!! best of luck………..it will b easy for you inshaAllah……….
    Congratulations for new job……
    luv ur blog………

Leave a Reply

