Hijab with too much dress

When you wear hijab it’s always good to cover up. But there is a difference between covering up and wrapping yourself up:

This look could easily lead to confusion, especially in Western countries close to christmas, as you might find yourself stuffed in a stocking or in the Norwegian case; with all the other gifts under the christmas tree.
See, it’s both not safe and not fashionable to sport this look. Avoid it, please!

Like it? ๐Ÿ˜›

Tagged , , , , , , ,

19 thoughts on “Hijab with too much dress

  1. Celeritas says:

    Yikes, too much. Red is also a very attention grabbing color and although I would never tell people not to wear it, I would advise not to wear it head to toe.

  2. bananafofana says:

    Stocking. . . hee hee hee

  3. Kate says:

    full dresses are just too much for me, I wouldnt wear it, But it’s kind of fun to look at on the models.

  4. Saliha says:

    I would never wear a meringue gown in red AND with hijab at the same time. I also don’t like the turtleneck under strapless dress thing that you see so much in Egyptian dresses.

  5. Mariam says:

    lol.. you crack me up. “might find yourself stuffed in a stocking”.. hehe
    I think the dress could be nice but the hijab is way too big and it’s too much red.

  6. caraboska says:

    The design is a bit fussy, to put it mildly. Also, I always have reservations about clothes that flare out like that at the bottom, because they follow the figure a little too closely for my taste.

    And as for the red looking like Christmas… My sense is that there’d have to be some green there for her to look something to be placed in a stocking herself. On the other hand, there is white, so she could look like someone would be stuffing the stockings (with things that are red and green and other colors as well ๐Ÿ˜‰ ).

    But I can understand why a Muslim would want to avoid looking like either of these things. For that matter, I myself believe every day is holy, and there is no Scripture anywhere that says anyone should celebrate Christmas as a holiday, so I don’t. I think there is a reason we do not know what day Isa/Jesus was born…

    If someone invites me, I come, but just as a guest, and they know not to ask me to take part in pagan customs that have grown up around the day called Christmas. I’d be curious to know what you do, those of you who live among people who do celebrate this day, if your friends (or family?) invite you to their place ‘for the holiday’?

  7. Kathleen says:

    More hoopskirts! What’s up with this? They’re nearly impossible to move or sit in, they’re a pain in the rear to maneuver through crowds… I just don’t get it. At least there aren’t any farthingales or bustles… Ugh, bustles…

  8. caraboska says:

    Someone commented on, I guess, the last post with hoopskirts – something to the effect that they’re great for imposing personal space… Have to admit they’re right!

  9. Kathleen says:

    caraboska: Hoops are great for the whole personal space thing, until someone decides to walk past you anyway – every action has an equal and opposite reaction, right? Yeah, if they walk past the back, the front tends to fly up. Luckily, hoops also require crinolines and other fun ‘foundation garments’, so it’s not like anyone actually gets to see much of anything, but it’s still a pain.

    For anyone interested, yo can also get this effect (or something like it) by lots and lots of crinolines – they’re poofy and thus make the skirt poof. But they tend to loose poofyness over the course of the day. For someone who doesn’t wear anything like these dresses, I know waaaaaaay too much about how to put them together…

  10. Kathleen says:

    And if you’re really, really interested in hoopskirts or how to get the effect, here’s a website geared toward Elizabethan re enactors, but the basic information should be helpful:

    http://www.elizabethancostume.net/

  11. caraboska says:

    Kathleen,

    Only one word – wow! (I have to admit I’m curious how you managed to come by all this info without even wearing the items in question tho ๐Ÿ˜‰ But you don’t have to answer that if you don’t want to).

  12. Kathleen says:

    caraboska: I’m in a group called the Society for Creative Anachronism – we recreate the… well, for lack of a better term, the ‘good parts’ of the middle ages – 900 – 1600CE. My old roomie is fond of Elizabethan garb, so I learned more than I ever wanted to know about how those things are put together. Also, I studied history in college, and how clothes are constructed has always fascinated me. I’ve finally got a good quality treadle sewing machine, so I might get to actually make some clothes again, because I cause modern sewing machines to sieze up and stop working.

  13. caraboska says:

    Kathleen,

    I never joined SCA, but I was quite involved in the local chapter at college. Goodness, you had a roomie who was into that kind of garb? I hope she didn’t rope you into the role of the servant girl, as described in that web page you linked to, with a discussion of Cecily’s pre-court toilette…

    Have to admit I’m a little surprised to find an SCA member on an Islamic clothing blog… Am I allowed to ask by what miracle that happened? Do you have a Muslim persona, or is there more to it than that?

  14. Kathleen says:

    caraboska:

    I read Muslimah Media Watch pretty regularly, and found this on on their blogroll. I’ve always loved learning about how and why people dress like they so, so here I am! And no, she never made me dress her. Her Authenticity Freak tendencies don’t go that far.

  15. caraboska says:

    Thank God. I may like the idea of embellishing my clothes beyond recognition, but I have enough of what the Quakers call a simplicity testimony to believe that having servants just to be able to say you have them (or wearing clothes that require their help to put them on, just to be able to say that you wear them) is over the top…

  16. rasha says:

    i am egyptian and i say how dusgusting is this dress

  17. adrya says:

    i want 2 wear 1 of those scarves ๐Ÿ˜ฅ

  18. Mimi says:

    This Dress Is Very Extravengent. It Quite Reminds Me Of Some Of The Haute Couture Garms That Dior Came Out With. Seeing As It Is A Spoilt Colour and Also Rather Impractical, I Can See, The With A Few Alternations And Modifications, This Dress Could Look Quite Classy. Another Factor To Why It Isn’t Very Soft To The Eye, Is Maybe Because It Is Not Relevant For Hijaabi’s [No Offence] . . . Try This Out On A Western Sze 0 Model With Flowing Hair and Extravegent Makeup, and U Will Not Get The Same Look.

  19. proud of my religion! says:

    hahaha good one! here in australia u would find heaps of muslims wearing that sort of stuff and its just terrible having all the australians looking at muslims in such a way! especially dark muslims, they luv this types of out fits. sorry girls who have dark skin!

    why on earth would sum one wear that junk? dont they have commen sense? i go bright red wen i see these type of people because then australian start to hate us more and wen they hate sum one they hate them more then the devil ( thats if they believe in the devil!)

Leave a Reply

