Egyptian treasures – Hijab, clothing and accessories

As most of you know,I was lucky enough to escape the cold North for a week to go to my beloved Masr (Egypt)! I did some relaxing, I had some fun, and I even got to shop a little (although I wish I had time for even more of that)..

So what would you want to buy in Egypt? Well there’s always the obvious SCARF. When in Egypt you have to buy tons of scarves (there are not many places elsewhere where you can buy your hijab for less than 2$ and up)!!!! Buy your hijabs from street vendors in Wust el balad (downtown), or bargain in el Husayn (Khan el Khaleely). You should also get your hands on some Egyptian cotton galabiyas with oriental embroidery from here!

If you are like me, and dress in a blend of eastern and western fusion (not abayas), you will definitely need basics to layer with. Thank God then for Carina body wear. I bought 3 lightweight turtlenecks from here, and they’re great. You will find every color your heart desires plus some more. I have to admit that I tried to find the hijab-neck top, and that Carina has stopped carrying it (hmmmm… wonder why).. Anyway looks silly, but I also had a small hope I could turn it into something cool. I managed to find a light pink one in another store. Still haven’t had the guts to wear it…

Hijab accessories are musts! Buy 3 of those 30 cent boxes with hijab pins. Buy 1 and 2 $ under scarves and bonnets in colors you cannot find elsewhere. If you use loose sleeves, buy em too. You can find all this anywhere. You gotta get your hands on the latest hejab fashion magazine as well.

Geneenah mall is my favorite shopping spot for clothing. Not classy like City Stars, but far better quality than the clothes in Wust el balad (and not much more expensive either). On the basement floor you will find most of the scarf and hijab stores, and also all the abayas (more about Geneenah mall later)… Get long tops and stuff you won’t find easily in the West, including loooong skirts.

Shoes! Shoes! Shoes! I have to admit that I hate most of what you get in Egyptian shoe stores. Go to the famous in Egypt Club Aldo for shoes that cost nothing and look hot! My newer favorite shoe store is Tata Tio. They have it in El Rehab Mall II, unfortunately I don’t know where else 😦

So there you go. That’s what hijab fashionistas shop in Egypt. What do you buy when you visit Egypt?

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

12 thoughts on “Egyptian treasures – Hijab, clothing and accessories

  1. caraboska says:

    What I’m curious about is whether you can get sewing patterns for all those nice galabiyas and such – it’s all but guaranteed they don’t have my size there, so I’d have to sew it myself…

  2. caraboska says:

    This is not Egyptian, but it is a pattern for a bunch of head coverings, including a pretty hood that could form the basis for all different kinds of hijabs. It could go over a bonnet for a sort of Kuwaiti look, it can be draped with all kinds of scarves, etc. for every kind of look you could imagine.

    It is very hard to find (at the time I ordered mine, as far as I can see, it was the only one for sale on the Net); at this site, they have one at a time, and they’ve got it now, just in today:

    http://www.lanetzliving.net/inc/sdetail/81522

    In case you miss it, it’s Vogue 9454.

  3. Sharshura says:

    hmmmm well i have never been to Egypt but if i did go i would definitely print out your post to bring along with me.

    As always loved your post especially since I was going through hijablog withdraw while you were gone. ;~)

  4. Jannah says:

    Omg i missed you and your blog!! Inshallah your trip was wonderful.. after reading your post it sure seemed like that 😉 I love your outfits, also!!

  5. jessyz says:

    Welcome back, or 7amdellah 3al salama. Hope you had a wonderful time.

  6. Nina says:

    ohhh, thank u so much for this post! i will write everything down so that next time i get to go to cairo, i can drag my hubby around and buy everything and more 🙂

  7. Mia says:

    how was it there? glad u had fun. i really missed misr. i was there during winter.. so they were hving winter style sale at d downtown area..bought myself a few long knitted sweater, a galabaya in aswan n a scarf in luxor. with i had bought more scarves + some tops.. but d sizes were off 😦

  8. Mia says:

    ooppss…wiSH i had bought more scarves + some tops.. but d sizes were off

  9. Carl says:

    The only Tata Tiò Store is in Italy. There are not Stores in Egypt.
    The Store site is http://www.tatatio.it
    Best Regards, Carl

  10. Madiha M.K says:

    OMG I HAD THAT EXACTTTT SCARF ON THE TOP RIGHT!!! Except I think it had more defined flowers. can’t remember. I gave it to my bff!!

  11. wow..egyptian style…looks really nice 🙂

Leave a Reply

