Peek-A-Boo the Halal Way

Yesterday, everything on top was new and totally budget-friendly (and embarrassingly from the “same” place, excluding the earrings). Since my friend had pulled me around four locations of one store hunting for the perfect pair of jeans, I had plenty of time to scout out some affordable items on my way, including this $8 peek-a-boo oversize shirt (again, shopping in Europe > shopping in the US). Who said hijabis cannot wear cut-out or peek-a-boo items, by the way? Add plenty to an outfit by layering them over cool patterns or fresh block colors.

I love shopping the sale, by the way.. I don’t understand the purpose of paying more for what you can get for less, and I suppose I’m more of a quantity before quality type of gal sartorially. It is just no fun to wear the same piece too many times.

That’s in general though, considering my grad student budget. If somebody would bestow upon me an expensive quality garment, I’d gladly accept (of course!).

20130529_180852

Oh and while we’re comparing this place to the US, I paid two hours of a US minimum wage (about $15) for the train ride to a friend who lives 15 minutes outside the city that day. That is a pretty offensive price. I certainly missed my environmentally unfriendly US lifestyle of driving around in my compact SUV for a moment.

cottoncandy

Star print scarf: Bikbok (on sale, $8), open back shirt: Bikbok (also on sale, $8), tribal/ethnic pastel peplum top: Bikbok (not on sale, but still like $15), pants: Vero Moda, bag: Gina Tricot, holographic ballerina flats: Forever21, big colorful earrings: H&M (also on sale, yo!)

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

