Pit Stop, Barcelona

I ended my Spain trip with a very short weekend in Barcelona in order to do some sightseeing and meet my colleague who was in town for a conference. Not only was the weather and the company great; I haven’t seen such a picturesque major city in a long time. The buildings and alleyways are all bold, beautiful, and eclectic, and much like Cairo, the place doesn’t seem to sleep (also much like Cairo, overall non-hijab related harassment levels are high, unfortunately).

image

My Spanish teacher always warned me wearing the headscarf in Spain would not go by smoothly and so I figured employing a shock-and-awe dressing strategy would be useful; my dramatic black and gold ensemble, with a traditional Afghan vest from Madeena Republic, and my go-to tutu skirt came to good use and also reflected the eccentric character of the city. Mission accomplished!

image

(What I’m wearing: scarf: Unique Hijabs, gold embroidered embellished vest: Madeena Republic, maxi tutu skirt: Ebay, clutch: vintage)

image

Tagged , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

