Random Cairo

This is the last collective OOTD post from Egypt, with snippets and/or complete outfits from the days after Eid but before my vacation, and the last two days in curfew-ridden Cairo. Many of the pictures are low in quality as they are taken in the night or at sunset, so please bear with it.

PhotoGrid_1377285235778

(What I’m wearing: Headscarf: Stradivarius, neck scarf: Stradivarius, chiffon shirt: Vero Moda, long jungle print tunic: H&M, leopard-patterned pants: Vero Moda, harness belt: Urban Outfitters)

This first outfit was an emergency OOTD, only really worn in the taxi to my friend’s house and back. She had her henna party that day, and so my actual, non-hijab appropriate outfit is hiding in my bag.

PhotoGrid_1377284720699

(What I wore: Scarf: Forever21, college style oversized shirt: River Island, chiffon longline kimono-cardigan: Stradivarius, tribal print colorful pants: Vero Moda)

My third and final visit to Rab3a to check the situation took place – like the other two – right before massive violence. The first time I visited the day before the fagr prayer shootings, the second time I actually had to leave the place as the police had started shooting teargas and bullets in Nasr street starting the second big incident, and this time it preceded the clearing of the area (and even greater casualties, with total numbers still unclear). The paint guy (or tan Tamer Hosny lookalike, according to my friend) above insisted that we take a picture, and we got photo bombed, as you can tell.

PhotoGrid_1377283110939

(What I wore: Headscarf: Stradivarius, neck scarf: Gina Tricot, sequin blazer jacket: Mango, baggy tank top: H&M, floral chiffon maxi skirt: New Look, most adorable kitten in the world: pet store, haha)

Getting back to Cairo following my El Gouna trip, I was just not prepared to stay in. Curfews and Imaan don’t mix, and additionally I had been craving sushi throughout Ramadan. My room mate (the owner of the above adorable Persian kitten) had tried to call places around Zamalek with no luck. Luckily, Sheikh Google came to the rescue, and with its assistance I was able to identify Makany as a place with owners who care as much about the curfew as I do. My roomie and her fiance was easily convinced to join me rebelling against the idiotic rule, and thus I finally got myself a long-awaited sushi meal (after crossing empty streets and some civilian checkpoints).

PhotoGrid_1377284183116

I woke up relatively early the last day in Cairo to go have lunch with one of my favorite people from college and our new, awesome friend. Left Bank on the Nile is perfect for breakfast and lunch both food and atmosphere wise, and so we had a great time (until they closed for the curfew, boo hoo). Farewell, my beloved Cairo. May we meet again soon.

neon-blue

(What I wore: pashmina scarf: Ebay, palm tree patterned cardigan: River Island, neon top: Bershka, flowy maxi skirt: Zara, lace tiered maxi skirt: Urban Outfitters, bag: Guess, accessories: Zara, ASOS, H&M, River Island, Icing)

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

One thought on “Random Cairo

  1. boblist says:

    Hey my dear Blogger, we have nominated you for the Versatile Blogger Award! We hope you are happy with it and enjoy it!! We really like your blog and think that you deserve it!! Here the link:
    http://boblist.me/2013/08/26/versatile-award/
    Kisses, b.

Leave a Reply

