The Lost City

While shooting with my homie Langston Hues not too long ago, we ventured out to the D. I’ve never actually been to motor city except from one brief stop in Southwest Detroit, dropping my roomie off to her internship, and so it was a completely new environment for me. All this talk about Detroit being shabby, run-down, and horrible? I still prefer the faded beauty of the former superstar over the younger, less wrinkly but mediocre C-actress. That’s why Detroit > Ann Arbor (or other Midwestern small towns) any day. There’s something about a town with history and real, beautiful architecture that makes it superior to any of these modern “villages” with the same brick structures, lawns, chain restaurants, and shopping malls you find just everywhere. Needless to say, I will be visiting again.

Apart from the  interesting locations in these pictures, I’m wearing a really cool bisht/kimono piece from Kuwaiti Susdiva. Check them out – they have some gorgeous pieces in their collection.

IMG_20130920_032303

IMG_20130920_033238

IMG_20130910_121346

IMG_20130920_032733

IMG_0059

IMG_0121

The writing in Arabic here says “Injustice anywhere is the road to justice everywhere,” but since I don’t see that this makes sense, I believe it is a mistranslation of Martin Luther King’s “injustice anywhere is a threat to justice everywhere.” Correct me if you are more philosophically inclined than I am (another friend suggested that injustice anywhere may cause us to uprise to spread justice everywhere but I don’t think that necessarily follows).

What I’m wearing: Bubble scarf: H&M, leopard infinity scarf: H&M, bisht/cardigan/kimono: Susdiva, silver and gold sequin tunic: River Island, pleated flowy maxi skirt: Gina Tricot (Norway)

Tagged , , , , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “The Lost City

  1. Noor says:

    All your outfits are so beautiful, and you are so pretty mashallah. I am a hijabi myself and I absolutely adore your style. if you don’t mind me asking, how tall are you? I want to know as I am nearly 5’9 and I am not sure if I will suit a maxi skirt, or if it will make me look too long lol.

  2. Alber Enrike says:

    I love your fashion, I think it’s very pretty different way to model and express vuetra female figure, you have my full support, I follow you, greetings Albert

Leave a Reply

